Search…
⌃K
Links

Returning responder behavior

What happens when visitors return to a flow they already started on?
When a responder returns to a flow that they already started, you have control over where they will be placed within the flow. This applies to flows that are accessed directly by their URL, and those that are embedded on another site.
To configure this, set Returning responder behavior in the Settings tab under Behavior.
By default, a user's submission data is stored for 3 weeks. For more information, see our data retention policy.

Start at beginning, discard answers

With start at beginning, discard answers enabled, every time a responder returns to a flow, they will start with an empty set of answers. This new session will still be keyed using their existing responder UUID.

Start at beginning, keep answers

With start at beginning, keep answers set, when responders return, their answers will be loaded into the flow, but they will be at the beginning of the flow.
This is useful if you would like responders to review submissions to their previous answers when returning.

Start at furthest point

By default, returning responders are placed at the furthest point in the flow that they had previously reached, with their existing answers present. This ensures that if the browser is reloaded, the flow will be at the same part of the flow, with the same answers.

Additional Behavior settings

There are additional settings you can enable to control the behavior of your flow.

Start each session as a new responder

When this flag is toggled on, every time a responder returns to a flow they are treated as a new responder. Answers are not loaded, and progress is not maintained, and, additionally, a new responder UUID is generated.
This is useful if you are using formsort in a physical store, or on a device that is passed directly to new users, where the particular browser that answers are collected on is not important in identifying users.

Enable URL navigation

Allows the ability to use forward and back buttons to navigate through a flow. This is not currently supported in embedded flows.

Enable restart once flow completed

When Enable restart once flow completed is toggled on, users will be given the option to restart a flow if they return to it after completing. Users will keep the responder_uuid generated during their initial visit, but answers will be cleared to allow them to start the flow over.
Answers are only cleared at the user end. Any answer payloads sent to your data stores will persist.
This is useful for forms that need to be filled out multiple times by the same users, but also forces users to fully complete a form before starting a new one.

Enable close once flow completed

If your flow is embedded into another page, this will create a link to close the page once the flow is completed.